My Hope is in the Lord

IMG_9977.jpg

But now, Lord, what do I look for? My hope is in you. Psalm 39:7

At the start of the year, I chose the word “hope” as my word for the year. It’s a simple word that holds a lot of promise.

Interestingly, I have to remind myself of my word EVERY day. I seem to loose hope at the slightest disappointment and forget who holds the world in the palm of His hand. I forget to hope.

Finances, deaths, disease, job loss, family struggles, and so much more can pile onto a person’s soul and suck the hope right out of their life. Don’t do it. Don’t lose your hope.

How any times has the Lord given me hope? How many times has He picked me up from the gutter? How many times must He prove His love for me?

This is Lent…a season of preparation for Jesus’s death on the cross and ultimate resurrection. I imagine there wasn’t a lot of hope on that dark and sad day. But hope was renewed three days later as Jesus rose from the grave.

Nothing is beyond the reach of God. Nothing is impossible. Nothing is without hope. I am glad I chose that word for this year and I intend to remind myself each and every day to never, never, give up hope.

I am standing on the promises of God, my savior.

 

Leave a Reply

