Prayer – What does it look like?

IMG_3046

There seems to be an on-going debate about what constitutes prayer.

Can prayer be defined by speaking out loud to God, bowing our heads, talking to Jesus while driving a car, or being silent on our hands and knees?

Prayer doesn’t come with a clear form of protocol and no one should tell you so. Prayer is prayer.

It is an active and voluntary communication with God. You can plead, beg, thank, or just be still, but prayer is an individual endeavor with guaranteed results.

A favorite author, Anne Lamott once said, “Here are the two best prayers I know: ‘Help me, help me, help me’ and ‘Thank you, thank you, thank you.” If this is all you can squeak out…it is enough.

The only thing that is asked of you is to pray.

Lord, hear our prayers.

I call on you, my God, for you will answer me; turn your ear to me and hear my prayer. Psalm 17:6

Leave a Reply

