Forgiveness 101

forgiveness

One of the things that I constantly struggle with is forgiveness and I’m way too old to keep this up. It is now or never for me.

There seems to be so many people on my naughty list who have harmed me in some egregious manner. To be honest, it’s a long list going way back. Add to that, my ability to forgive does not come easy. I am embarrassed to share that with you.

But I have to remember that if I don’t forgive, the ultimate loser will be me.

To hold on to hurt or hateful feelings is a self-defeating thing. It will eventually harden your heart and Lord knows, I don’t want a hard heart.

I know that if God tallied up my sins, mistakes, and wrongdoings, it would be pretty hard to forgive me. It’s a rather long list. The inability to forgive is contrary to the good news of the gospel since forgiveness is at the core of our faith. To forgive, as Christ forgave us is the ultimate victory over sin.

Am I perfect? Not at all. But I’m weary of holding these negative hurts in my soul. It has to stop.

So, before my friends, I vow to forgive. I want a contented soul and I can’t move forward without this. Most of all, I’m grateful for a loving God who forgives me daily.

I’m starting fresh today with a loving, contrite and most of all, forgiving heart. Lord, hear my prayers…

 

Leave a Reply

