Are you ready?

Image

I’m finishing up my list of things “to do”. New outfit? Check. New shoes? Check. Fresh hair cut? Check. It’s almost Easter and I’m ready.

 

Growing up some of my best memories of Easter are the pageantry, the new clothes and shoes and the delicious celebration meal after Sunday services complete with bunny cake.

 

Dying eggs for the Easter hunt, putting up colorful ribbons and listening to the choral practice were all a small part of the Easter preparation. The anticipation was astounding. As a child, I knew it was a special season of worship and I was never disappointed.

 

I’m jumping ahead for this one day as I prepare for the difficult days of remembrance. Today, I want to remember the preparation for the celebration. After this, I HAVE to remember the time of reflection and grief. I am going to walk through the tough times to get to the good news.

 

As an adult, I still get excited at Easter. It now ranks as my favorite time of the year. This is as it should be. It is a never-ending reminder that I worship a risen Savior. The beautiful flowers, streamers and colors of Easter Sunday herald us all into a time of great joy. So, put on your bonnet, put on your new shoes and worship Jesus. Look your best for the King.

 

He is Risen…He is Risen indeed.

Leave a Reply

