Let it go!

 

Image

Have you heard the song  “Let it Go” from the Disney movie Frozen yet? If you haven’t you must be living in a cave somewhere. My 4-year old granddaughter can’t stop singing it at the top of her lungs.

She sings it in the car, in the front yard as she runs around waving her hands to freeze our trees, at the dinner table and obviously, in the shower. To say that she would not make it on the TV show “The Voice” is an understatement…she’s a “little pitchy dog”. Let’s just say she likes to make a joyful noise.

 The problem is, and it is a big problem…the song is catchy and it gets in your head and you find yourself singing it all day long. 

I am reminded of one of my dear elderly friends at church who each Sunday would sing the hymns with gusto. When I say gusto, I am meaning full boar operatic mode. I told her one day that I loved to hear her sing and she shared that she was formerly shy about singing hymns but then decided that the Lord wanted to hear her praise whether it was cringe-worthy or glorious so now she sings loud and proud.

 I have to admit, I have adopted her philosophy. I figure if you don’t like my vocal decibel you will know not to sit in front of me next time in church. I don’t make a scene but I’m not shy about singing praises to Jesus.

Let it go!

Leave a Reply

