I love to tell the story…memories of Dad

ImageToday is the 4th anniversary of my Dad passing from this life into the next. I never met anyone like Dad. He was wholly committed to Jesus and he told anyone he met about the Lord.

One of my favorite stories is when my parents and I were at a local mall and Mom and I went into a store leaving Dad outside. Suddenly, I looked out to see Dad chatting with an elderly gentlemen. I nudged my Mom and told her Dad was winning someone for Christ. When we were done shopping, I walked out to say hello to the sweet man and told him that my Dad was a committed Christian.

Surprisingly, the man told me that he was so impressed that Dad would just walk up to him and share the gospel. No one had ever done that to him.

What made it all the more impressive is that my Dad was unknowingly witnessing to the Senior Pastor of a large Baptist church.

Dad was “saving” a Baptist preacher. Dad wasn’t embarrassed because he was not ashamed to share the love of Christ with anyone he met. Dad told the Pastor he was glad to know he didn’t have to worry about him. It cracked me up.

I hope if someone ever shares Jesus with you that you will let them tell their story and witness to you. You may know more than they do and you may be a lifelong Christian but to the person with a true, deep and loving relationship with the Lord – their words mean something and they want to be sure you are saved.

Dad brought more people to Christ than anyone I know. I’m so very proud of him. I miss him greatly.

In loving memory: S.A. Parvin –  1919 – 2010

I love to tell the story, for those who know it best
Seem hungering and thirsting to hear it like the rest.
And when, in scenes of glory, I sing the new, new song,
’Twill be the old, old story that I have loved so long.

Leave a Reply

