Homecoming

Image

Lily Lee Plumblee – 3 year old granddaughter’s artistic rendering of Heaven

In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. John 14:2

I remember a time when I couldn’t wait to leave home. I was young, naïve and ready to be free from what I thought were the restraints placed upon me by my parents. I was pretty much an idiot.

I also remember what happened when I left. Scared, alone and with no safety net at college, I made a lot of mistakes. I picked poorly and it cost me dearly. I listened to the wrong people and make bad choices. I remember eventually returning home into the arms of my loving parents. Mom made a welcome home dinner and it smelled like heaven. It was a great homecoming.

So it goes with God. There have been times when I rebelled against God and made bad choices. Those bad choices led to more bad choices and a lot of heartache. We all know the feeling.

Fortunately, my parents raised me to love the Lord with all my heart. They raised me that redemption is possible from earthly parents and from our heavenly Father. They raised me to know that no one is beyond the loving arms of God.

Our church always had a Sunday service each year as a homecoming. So many old friends would return from all over the country and spend a day together and celebrate a loving community of faith and a Savior that welcomes us home.

I love the whole idea of homecoming. Homecoming is defined as “the act of arriving at a certain place, a coming to or returning home”. My parents have now celebrated the ultimate homecoming. Someday, Lord willing, we will all do the same. What a day of rejoicing that will be.

I’ve got a mansion just over the hilltop
In that bright land where we’ll never grow old
And someday yonder, we will never more wander
But walk on streets that are purest gold

Baptist Hymnal 536

 

Leave a Reply

